7-5-14 Comfort (a Sonnet)

comfort

Your days are filled with misery and pain;

It seems that no one understands at all.

A constant grief flows out of you like rain,

And ev’ry time you rise you seem to fall.

Recline your tired head against my breast;

Let go the weariness within your bones.

I’ve come to give you peace, to give you rest,

To mend your broken heart that weeps and moans.

You now are safe and snug within my arms;

My friend, I loved you ere you felt such loss.

I came to free you from all worldly charms

And took your sins to hang upon that cross.

Now nestle here within my warm embrace

And know at last you’re saved by faith and grace.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

As a mother comforts her child,

so will I comfort you…

Isaiah 66:13

~~~~~~~~~~~~

One comment on “7-5-14 Comfort (a Sonnet)

  1. mmkirschbaum says:

    Thank you for this post. Especially during this period, many lovers of our Lord Jesus Christ need to be encouraged and comforted. Be blessed in your good works in the Lord’s vineyard.

Leave a comment