12-2-13 Read and Know

As a child, whenever I could not spell a word

my mother would arch an eyebrow and smile.

“Look it up in the dictionary.”

I could not understand how I was suppose to

find a word I could not spell!

But in looking for the right word

I was introduced to so many more.

Now look at me!

I have so many words I’ll never give them all away!

 

When Your unquenchable fire

incinerated the old man in me,

You gave me a new book of words:

The undeniably Holy Bible.

I quickly devoured it with my eyes

but only understood a few phrases.

So much to learn! So many question!

I could not understand how I was suppose to

find answers!

I remembered my mother’s slight smile

and caught a vision of her pushing Your words

across the table at me, saying “Look it up.”

I began looking, and found everything.

“Ask, and it shall be given to you;

seek and you will find;

knock and the door will be opened to you.” (Luke 11:9)

His words tell me when I am discouraged:

“I can do all things through Christ

which strengthens me.” (Philippians 4:13)

When I am tempted:

“Blessed is the man that endures temptation:

for when he is tried, he shall receive the crown of life,

which the Lord has promised

to them that Love Him.” (James 1:13)

When I sin:

“He that covers his sins shall not prosper:

but whoever confesses and forsakes them

shall have mercy.” (Proverbs 28:13)

When I am puffed up with pride:

“We are all as an unclean thing,

and all our righteousnesses are as filthy rags;

and we do all fade as a leaf;

and our iniquities, like the wind,

has taken us away.” (Isaiah 64:6)

When I don’t know what to do:

“Love the Lord your God with all your heart,

with all your soul,

with all your mind,

and with all your strength.

and

Love your neighbor as yourself.

There is no other command greater than these. (Mark 12: 30-31)

This dictionary of God’s infinite love has all the answers

to all our questions.

To understand, you only have to read.

Leave a Reply

