5-10-14 The Christian’s Mission (a Sonnet)

discipleship

To be like Christ your purpose here is clear:

Continue on the work that He began.

Now this is really your one true career,

The reason why you love your fellow man.

In all you do the Father’s glorified; [i]

His will is all you ever want to do. [ii]

Call sinners to repentance far and wide, [iii]

And use the sword of Truth your whole life through. [iv]

As Jesus lived to serve, be just the same; [v]

Lay down your life for others if need be. [vi]

Love God with all your heart and praise His name; [vii]

Give love to one another – that’s the key. [viii]

Fulfill the mission Christ set out to do,

And you will please the Lord whose love is true

 

[i]  “… let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.” Matthew 5:16

[ii]  “… I seek not to please myself but him who sent me.” John 5:30

[iii]  “… I am not come to call the righteous, but sinners to repentance.” Matthew 9:13

[iv]  “… I came not to send peace, but a sword.”Matthew 10:34

[v]  “… I am among you as one who serves.” Luke 22:27

[vi]  “… I lay down my life for the sheep.” John 10:15

[vii]  “… Love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, with all your strength, and with all your mind” Luke 10:27

[viii]  “… A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another.” John 13:34

~~~~~~~~~~~

If you enjoy this site, please give what you can to help keep it going.

Donate Button with Credit Cards

Leave a Reply

